top of page


Certified Counter Terrorism Specialist (CCTS)


The certificate in Counter Terrorism Specialist (CCTS) is designed as a "stand-alone" certification or can serve as a "step-up" program into the Certificate Homeland Security Manager (CHSM) program. CCTS provides an understanding of the fundamental principles of National Security strategies, including the legal charter, presidential executive orders, and the framework which guides the operation of national security agencies. Specifically, the program analyzes the role and function of counterintelligence and the Intelligence Community. It will emphasize Operation Security, interrogation techniques, Information Protection and Security and the recent history of US efforts to combat terrorism; the strengths and weaknesses of counterterrorist tools, including intelligence, diplomacy, law enforcement, and military force; the policy challenges in erecting security countermeasures and managing terrorist incidents; issues of civil liberties and morality in countering terrorism; the role of the public and the media; and proposals for revising US counterterrorism programs.


(8 Courses )
700 Series Certification
Minimum Experience: 5 years
Certification Exam: Required
Minimum Requirement: 24 units


*Core Courses:
- Four C4SEM-CT Courses 
*Elective Courses:
- Two C4SEM-CJ Courses


Sector-Specific Courses:

  • Domestic and International Terrorist Threat

  • Evolution of Al Qaeda

  • Explosive Detection

  • Homegrown Extremism

  • Improvised Explosive Devices (IEDs)

  • Introduction to Terrorism Awareness

  • Preoperational Surveillance Detection

  • Terrorism Case Studies

  • Terrorist Attack Cycle

  • Terrorist Behavioral Indicators

  • Terrorist Tradecraft & Tactics

  • The Suicide Bomber

  • Tradecraft Analysis

  • Vehicle Borne Improvised Explosive Devices (VBIEDs)


* (This doesn’t apply to applicants who meet the certification exam requirements and are accepted candidates under VA LACAS and Military COOL programs)

Center for Security and Emergency Management (C4SEM). Homeland Security Training and Certification Academy
bottom of page